Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 25, 2017, 08:31:26 am

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Windows 7 Problem Again [SOLVED]  (Read 6856 times)
emahar
little robot
*
Posts: 3


« on: December 24, 2012, 09:00:10 pm »

"Help! When I went to start up the game for the second time, it goes to the Amanita Design screen and then stays black and won't start up."

So I noticed that this problem was on the forums a couple times. The general solution seems to be reinstall. However, I have reinstalled the game at least 10 times now and it still does this. I have Windows 7 and I got the game through Steam.

This is beginning to be really frustrating. I have been searching for a fix everywhere and I can't seem to find one.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2012, 07:10:33 pm by Alex » Logged
Alex
Global Moderator

*****
Posts: 1376



« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2012, 09:18:08 pm »

Quote from: emahar
...I have reinstalled the game at least 10 times now and it still does this. I have Windows 7 and I got the game through Steam.

Reinstalling from the same executable file and getting the same result means that the executable you have is damaged.

Try tossing that one, re-downloading a new executable, and trying again.

Logged
emahar
little robot
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #2 on: December 25, 2012, 07:13:43 am »

How do I get a new executable?
Logged
Alex
Global Moderator

*****
Posts: 1376



« Reply #3 on: December 25, 2012, 09:31:42 pm »

Quote from: emahar
How do I get a new executable?

No personal experience with Steam but I searched around for "Black screen + Steam" and it looks like you have to do something called "Verifying Game Cache Files (GCF)"

links: http://forums.steamgames.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2850069  and  https://support.steampowered.com/kb_article.php?ref=2037-QEUH-3335

Also found this post:  http://forums.2kgames.com/showthread.php?99751-corrupted-executable-file
where it says, "right-click on the game, choose 'properties,' and under the 'Local Files' tab choose 'Verify integrity of game files' option. This should make sure everything lines up properly."

I'd suggest that you should try that first.  Please write back to let us know if any of these suggestions helped.

« Last Edit: December 25, 2012, 10:01:07 pm by Alex » Logged
emahar
little robot
*
Posts: 3


« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2012, 09:10:32 am »

So I looked at the first link. One of the things it said to try was deleting the setting.txt file in BotaniculaSaves. I did this and now I can play the game.So far I have opened the game three times and it has worked all three times, not just the first time. I don't know why this made it work but somehow everything seems to be all in order now.
Thanks for the prompt response and help.
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: