Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
August 15, 2018, 01:07:54 am

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Minimum system requirements on Mac  (Read 5745 times)
Simon
little robot
*
Posts: 5


« on: March 25, 2016, 08:42:14 am »

Hello everyone,

I just bought Samorost 3 on official website http://samorost3.net/

I was a bit worried because I searched online for the minimum system requirements and on Gog.com (https://www.gog.com/game/samorost_3) I found these:

Mac: OS X 10.9 or later
1.7 GHz Dual Core
1 GB RAM
1 GB Disk Space
Mouse, Keyboard

Fortunately (Amanita Design, I love you!) the game launched and run smoothly (I just tried the first area at the moment) for me on my 5 years old MacBook Pro 13" (Early 2011) with Snow Leopard - OS X 10.6.8!

Maybe this can be useful for someone!
 
Have a nice day/play,
Simone
« Last Edit: March 25, 2016, 08:45:45 am by Simon » Logged
Lamkin
Global Moderator

*****
Posts: leet



« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2016, 03:04:06 pm »

That's fantastic that it runs under 10.6.8 Snow Leopard. And I'm not sure why GOG has the requirements at 10.9. Huh Steam says 10.7 and above, but I know Steam no longer supports Snow Leopard, so it makes sense that 10.6 isn't included.
Logged
NonoNano
little robot
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2018, 05:34:17 pm »

Hi,

I also have Snow Leopard 10.6.8 but in my case the game is not running.
Have you did something in particular to make it running?

Thanks
Logged
Lamkin
Global Moderator

*****
Posts: leet



« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2018, 06:01:19 pm »

Hmm... I doubt that Simon above had done anything in particular to get the game to work under Snow Leopard. My guess here is that an update to the game sometime after the initial launch has caused it to no longer be compatible with Snow Leopard. I have 10.6.8 on a partition, but I rarely boot up into in anymore...I'll check in a bit here to see if I can get the game to run under it, then I'll edit the post.
Unfortunately, it's likely the game no longer runs on Snow Leopard, so I think you might be out of luck, as the minimum requirements never listed 10.6.8. I suppose it's *possible* that Amanita Design could provide you with that earlier, compatible version, but I would imagine probably not. You can contact the developers and ask them using the form at the bottom of this page:
http://amanita-design.net/about.html

Edit: Nope. Skip to Reply #7 below.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2018, 11:03:55 pm by Lamkin » Logged
NonoNano
little robot
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2018, 06:26:22 pm »

Thank you very much for your kind reply! I've already tried to contact the developers..hope they will give me some info soon..thank you!
Logged
Lamkin
Global Moderator

*****
Posts: leet



« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2018, 06:49:00 pm »

Okay, so I was able to launch the game without any issues under 10.6.8. The version number reads 1.4.460. I downloaded it just today from my Humble key page, and that version was uploaded on 2017-03-22. Where did you purchase the game, Nono?
Logged
NonoNano
little robot
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2018, 01:46:20 am »

Hi,

thank you very much for your support!
Unfortunately in my case the game is not running, the icon of the game looks like this:

https://ibb.co/kUy06b

and if I try to run it I get this message:

https://ibb.co/iGF2Kw

that means "you cannot open Samorost 3 because it is not supported by this type of Mac"

The OS should be the same one you are using:

https://ibb.co/hmyNKw

I bought the game from the official site "samorost3.net", using humble bundle..
Thank you!

« Last Edit: January 07, 2018, 01:48:23 am by NonoNano » Logged
Lamkin
Global Moderator

*****
Posts: leet



« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2018, 01:50:55 am »

 Huh Huh.  Undecided If you choose "Get Info" by Control-clicking the icon, what version does it say you have? Just curious.

Edit: Eh, I'm assuming the version you're downloading is 1.4.460. But I've been looking into this (i.e., googling), and I may have found an explanation: I'm wondering if your computer can run 64-bit applications, thinking possibly that Samorost 3 requires it. I saw the screenshot of your computer specs, and I believe the Intel Core Duo is a 32-bit processor.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2018, 03:56:55 pm by Lamkin » Logged
NonoNano
little robot
*
Posts: 4


« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2018, 12:49:22 pm »

I think you probably hit the point: I suppose that my computer doesn't support 64bit architecture.
By the way the version of the program is the same as yours: "1.4.460".
There must be some difference between our machines that allows the program running in some model but not in others.
Probably this is not solvable..I will try to run the program under Linux using Wine..I hope it works..
In any case thank you very much for your kind support!
Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: