Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
March 19, 2024, 09:51:51 am

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Basic instructions  (Read 11819 times)
sukayser
little robot

« on: January 15, 2014, 09:09:08 pm »

I am new to Machinarium, which I am playing on my iPad (3rd generation, still on iOS 6). There is no menu bar, just a star which gives me access to a kind of safe with a spider game, a lightbulb, and a display of what is in the inventory. I can play the game, but the lightbulb doesn't go on when I tap it.

I would like to know: How do I save a game? How do I get stuff out of inventory to use, or does it just appear when needed? What is the lightbulb for? Is there a Help file? (I do have the walk through bookmarked, but don't want to look at it unless I am totally stumped.) Do I have to win the spider game before I can continue? Is there an FAQ for the game, or a Basic Instructions file?

So far my robot has his body and has swallowed the toy that the anteater is looking for. I am doing very badly on the spider game. I don't suppose there's a way to slow it down, or pause it?

Thanks in advance for helping.
Lamkin
Global Moderator

« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2014, 12:59:38 am »

There is no FAQ for the game. A few text instructions for playing the game are given while playing through that first level. (From where you say you are in the level progress-wise, you haven't seen all of the instructions yet.)
But to answer a few of your questions:

Q. How do I save the game?
A. Press the star to see the different menu items on the bottom of the screen. Notice that 'SAVE' is an option; press 'SAVE' and select one of the slots to save your game.

Q. How do I get stuff out of the inventory to use?
A. Press the star. Tap, hold, and drag an item out of the inventory; "drop" the item (by lifting up your finger) where you want to use it. (Note that an item becomes illuminated when it comes in contact with an area where it can be used.)

Q. What is the lightbulb for?