Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 07, 2019, 03:56:25 am

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can I play machinarium in widescreen?  (Read 15403 times)
SlayaDud
little robot
*
Posts: 5


« on: December 24, 2010, 12:55:03 pm »

Hey guys I was wondering if this game could be played in widescreen. Youtube videos make it look like it but I don't see a setting for that anywhere. I have a laptop 1366x768 resolution 16:9 aspect ratio and the game is forcing me to play it in 4:3 with black bars also on the top and bottom. A little help please?
Logged
ABoretz
god of all robots
*********
Gender: Male
Posts: 666



WWW
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2010, 08:28:33 pm »


To quote JD: "the game will run in 100% size (with option to scale it up or down) so the backgrounds will be perfectly sharp. 1250x790 is usable resolution for screens 1280x1024 or 1280x800 or bigger and you can still play it full screen or in window without scrolling. also we don't mind small black frame around the screen (in full screen mode)."

Source: Developer's answer to user's aspect ratio question

Logged
SlayaDud
little robot
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2010, 02:54:37 am »

So your saying since my screen's height is only 768 I can't play this game in widescreen?
Logged
ABoretz
god of all robots
*********
Gender: Male
Posts: 666



WWW
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2010, 07:23:41 am »

Quote from: SlayaDud

So your saying since my screen's height is only 768 I can't play this game in widescreen?


Well, yes but maybe no.  I was just quoting JD there; however, the game looks pretty "widescreen" at this gallery exhibition, so it has to be possible.

Maybe you'll find a solution in this post from '09?  (moderator popsUlfr found a program called "Display Changer" that just might be what you're looking for)

Good luck!  Let us know how that works out for you.  (it'd be great if we could finally create a "How To Play In WIDESCREEN" FAQ!)

« Last Edit: November 16, 2012, 08:03:14 pm by Alex » Logged
SlayaDud
little robot
*
Posts: 5


« Reply #4 on: December 31, 2010, 09:11:22 am »

I tried using that program but it still plays in a 4:3 aspect ratio. I put a comment about it on that page and haven't gotten any responses yet so I don't know what to do.
Logged
Paku
citizen robot
**
Posts: 9


« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2011, 08:31:38 pm »

As mentioned the game has a fixed maximum resolution of 1250x790, which is kind of widescreen (though not as wide as 16:9). The problem here is that there are only two modes: 100% (1250x790) and 80% (1000x632) resolution. At 1366x768 your screen height is too small for 100% so the game will only play at 80%, and you will get black bars all around to fill up the rest of the screen. The aspect ratio is the same no matter what, the game window is just smaller on your screen.

If you have an option to change the desktop resolution to 1152x648, that would be the optimal resolution to make the game fill up as much of the screen as possible.
« Last Edit: January 07, 2011, 09:29:38 pm by Paku » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: