Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
October 01, 2020, 01:17:08 am

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Save tool doesn't provide solution  (Read 10112 times)
william199
little robot
*
Posts: 6


« on: November 16, 2010, 06:54:27 pm »


Hi

Ok I downloaded the save tool to the subdirectory where
machinarium.exe resides. I ran it selecting first
item 1 then item 2 then item 3. Seemed to have worked but
wait.....

I ran the game, started a new game, ran the game a few
steps then performed SAVE and QUIT.

Game now has RESUME and START NEW GAME. I selected RESUME.

The game now begins with the flying dumper
dumps parts in the dump.

I performed LOAD and the same thing happens the
flying dumper scenario once again. Obviously either
1. The file was not saved
2. The path to the file is not known
3. other problem.

Whats next???

I am a principle Engineer and I Consult
for a living.

My opinion is that if the game state is checked
after a save and load the application should be
able to validate the save or load function.

Maybe it would be a good idea to revise the game
and release a patch??

Regards to the helpefull members of the fourm!

Bill
Logged
Lamkin
Global Moderator

*****
Posts: leet



« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2010, 08:28:23 pm »

My guess is that you hadn't left or exited that location, i.e., you hadn't moved on to the next screen. 'Cause the same thing happens to me and, I assume, everyone. It seems that for the first three locations the save slots are really only intended to save the game once a new location has been reached.

« Last Edit: November 28, 2010, 10:32:40 am by Lamkin » Logged
william199
little robot
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2010, 08:32:56 pm »


I verified that the saves.exe path checks out
both for the STORE function and the RESTORE
function. Both paths seem correct as I
traced them out physically.

Never-the-less after running SAVES.EXE and then
running Machinarium. The SAVE and LOAD function
does not SAVE the current position nor restore
(LOAD) a previous game position via LOAD.

If you (the developer) get back to me maybe we can
resolve this issue so I can get on with your very
interesting game.

Regards Bill
 
Logged
william199
little robot
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2010, 08:42:32 pm »



OK Lamkin I see what you are saying. I will try that idea out.

It would be nice if there was a short document with the game
pointing things like that out.

Actually some video games only allow saving at certain points
but usually the saves are automatic in that case. Other games
allow saving the content at any point.

Bill
Logged
william199
little robot
*
Posts: 6


« Reply #4 on: November 16, 2010, 08:51:44 pm »

Thanks LAMKIN
Your idea seems to be correct.
Thanks for the feedback.

Are there other issues in the game??

Best Bill

 Smiley
Logged
Lamkin
Global Moderator

*****
Posts: leet



« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2010, 09:29:55 pm »

Thanks LAMKIN
Your idea seems to be correct.
Thanks for the feedback.
You're quite welcome. =o)

Are there other issues in the game??
Well, as ABoretz pointed out, it seems that, on occasion, saves can disappear, i.e., you'll start up the game and find that all of your save slots will be empty. This thread tells more about that:
http://forum.amanita-design.net/index.php?topic=463.0

So...it's a good idea to, every so often, make a backup copy of your Machinarium.sol file. The Machinarium.sol file is where the game's settings and progress are stored. Details on where to find the .sol file can be found in this thread:
http://forum.amanita-design.net/index.php?topic=1097.0


« Last Edit: April 21, 2015, 07:02:03 pm by Alex » Logged
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to: